weblogos_01 Opel Industrial.jpg

WebLogos Hits

WebLogos19 02 ASA Plastics

WebLogos19_03 Atoea Electrical

WebLogos19 04 High Rev

WebLogos19 05 Shuttleworth.jpg

WebLogos19 07 NBS.jpg

WebLogos19 08 Crabb Electrical.jpg

WebLogos19 09 Copyart.jpg

WebLogos19_10 Lifestyle Centre.jpg

WebLogos19 11 Glasgow harley.jpg

WebLogos19 12 tasman karts.jpg

WebLogos19 13 Nelson Alarms.jpg

WebLogos19_15 14 Abel marines.jpg

WebLogos19 15 Woodlot.jpg

WebLogos19 16 Nelson Marine

WebLogos19 17 Endevour.jpg

WebLogos19 18 Carpet plus

WebLogos19 19 Jacks Tyres

WebLogos sportswise


Canterbury turn up the heat


It was a hot and sunny day for round one of the Kartsport Nelson Mike Pero Club Points Championship last Sunday at The Hits Value Vehicles Kart Raceway, in Redwood Valley. There were a handful of Canterbury drivers that travelled up last weekend to turn up the heat and keep the Nelson drivers honest.

With great numbers across all classes there was some fantastic racing and great battles up and down the field.

The current New Zealand Champion Louis Sharp in the Cadet Rok class has just recently moved up a grade into Vortex Mini Rok. The Canterbury driver battled hard with local talent Bo Hill and tried everything to get around him but Hill just held Sharp off and went on to win. Louise Gridley was close behind and in the mix running home third.

In the Junior Rotax class it was an all Canterbury podium with Dominic Robertson starting off the 2018 season with top points followed by Liam Pink and Zac Christensen in third. Sam Lightowlers was Nelsonís best placed driver in forth.

Cadet Rok it was Nelsonís Bentley Kemp that had the early pace but couldnít quite hold off clubmate of Lochiel McGregor as he took the overall win from Kemp, with a string of Canterbury drivers finishing behind them.

Nelsonís Darryl Wehner kicked of the season well in the Rotax Max heavy class taking the win over club mate Duncan Barrett and Canterburyís Marty Marshall. There was a few surprise names down the order with the reigning Club Champion of Bryce Borlase lacking his normal pace and Kevin Barker having engine issues through the day.

The two Nelson clubmates of Tony Dyer and David Pinkerton returned back to the top of the order again in the Briggs Light class with Dyer taking the win followed by Pinkerton and Carey Burr. Thereís a new kid on the block thatís starting to show some great pace and thatís Kennedy Stratford. Stratford had a wheel fly off in one of the heats but will be a guy to keep an eye on in the near future.

Jason Richards also took the top points for round one in the Briggs Heavy field with Marlboroughís Peter Richardson coming home in second.

Round 2 of the Mike Pero Points Championship will be held next month on Sunday the 18th of Feb with racing starting at 11am.

Photo credit - Chris Symes (shuttersport) Bentley Kemp leads the Cadet Rok class at The Hits Value Vehicles Kart Raceway